Earth Supplied Textured Haircare Review - Mack the Maverick (2023)

I love the overwhelming gamut of hair products available on the shelves today, but I don’t always love the price. It seems that just a few years ago, you could buy a decent hair regimen for under $20. Today, not so much. By the time you buy a $10 shampoo, and $10 conditioner, plus a deep conditioner, leave-in, and any kind of moisturizers or stylers you may need, you could be out of $75-$100. Sure, we must account for inflation and improvements in research and ingredients, but not everyone can afford it. In these economic conditions, the cost can be a barrier to healthy hair. The saying goes that you get what you pay for, but Earth Supplied Textured Haircare is bucking the establishment. At most retailers, none of the products in this brand exceed $8! Butare they any good? Let’s find out.

Earth Supplied Texured Haircare Products

Earth Supplied Textured Haircare Review - Mack the Maverick (1)

Earth Supplied’s products harness the power of globally sourced butters and oils to help treat the needs of kinky coily hair.

The Earth Supplied product offering is divided into two collections:

Moisture & Repair – designed to repair and soften hair and reduce tangles through intense hydration

  • Sulfate-Free Shampoo
  • Butter Rich Deep Treatment Masque
  • Silicone Free Rinse Out Conditioner
  • Leave-In Conditioner
  • Curl-Poppin’ Activator
  • Creamy Defining Gell-O
  • Shine & Hold Mist
  • Coconut Curl Creamnew at Family Dollar

Strength & Length – designed to promote long and strong hair via moisture and antioxidants

  • Hair Slip Conditioning Detangler
  • Night-Night Lay Me Down
  • Strong-Strands Protein Masque
  • Retention Oil Serum
  • Anti-Break Shine Oil

The brand’s emphasis on ingredients is very clear throughout the line. The percentage of the featured oils and butters is prominently displayed on the packaging whenever they are present above 5%. In the case of the Moisture & Repair collection, shea butter is the major player; in the case of Strength & Length, Castor Oil and Bamboo seem to be the stars.

The brand takes equally as much pride in the ingredients NOT present in their products:

  • Sulfates
  • Silicones
  • Parabens
  • Mineral oil
  • Petrolatum
  • Paraffin
  • Propylene Glycol
  • Phthalates
  • Gluten
  • PABA
  • DEA

Earth Supplied Wash Day Review

(Video) Earth Supplied Textured Haircare | Affordable Hair Product Review| Type 4 Natural Hair Wash Day Demo

To start, I chose products mainly from the Moisture & Repair line because it contained the shampoo and conditioner. I also initially purchased the deep conditioner from the Strength & Length line. In testing these products, I followed my wash-day process in the order below.

Earth Supplied Textured Haircare Review - Mack the Maverick (2)

Earth Supplied Sulfate-Free Shampoo

13 oz. – $6.29, sallybeauty.com

The shampoo has the silky pearlescent look and feel of most moisturizing shampoos, but it left my hair squeaky clean. Although we look to conditioner to help us detangle hair, I am partial to a shampoo that has “slip.” The last thing I want to do after detangling my hair is to undo that work with shampoo that tangles my hair. The Earth Supplied shampoo does not do that. Furthermore, it cleans without stripping.

Verdict: Mighty Fine

Earth Supplied Textured Haircare Review - Mack the Maverick (3)

Earth Supplied Strong Strands Protein Masque

12 oz. – $6.29, sallybeauty.com

I bought this deep conditioner because it was the first one available to me, and it did not disappoint. As part of the Strength & Length collection, it claims to hydrate, reconstruct, and improve elasticity, among other things. It has a whipped, gelly-cream texture (similar to the Keracare Curlessence Leave-in), that makes it easy to apply. While rinsing out this product, I immediately noticed that my shedding was reduced. My most recent use was immediately after blow-drying and curling my hair. I had used lots of heat protectant but I was still concerned about reversion. My hair usually turns back, but the curls aren’t always “springy” for the first couple of washes. This masque helped return the elasticity to my hair after the first wash.

Verdict: High and Mighty

Earth Supplied Textured Haircare Review - Mack the Maverick (4)

Earth Supplied Butter Rich Deep Treatment Masque

1.75 oz. – $2.50, familydollar.com

After I had used the Earth Supplied Line for a month, I put my hair up in twists for another 4 weeks. I chose to try the Butter Rich Deep Treatment Masque to deep condition my hair after the takedown. This deep conditioner comes plentiful in its package. I don’t have the longest hair, but it is thick, and I only used half the packet for one application. At first squeeze, the texture is very firm – it is in no way watered down. After leaving it to work for about 30 minutes, my hair did feel quite a bit more “lively,” but it had very little slip. This concerned me a bit, but after trusting the process, I was pleasantly surprised by the outcome. The expectation of a deep conditioner is that it provides results lasting longer than its rinse-out counterparts. My hair stayed moisturized for almost a week without much intervention.

(Video) Earth Supplied Strong Strands Protein Masque Review

Verdict: Mighty Fine

Earth Supplied Textured Haircare Review - Mack the Maverick (5)

Earth Supplied Silicone Free Rinse Out Conditioner

13 oz. – $6.29, sallybeauty.com

Unlike a deep conditioner, I have an expectation that my rinse-out conditioner provides slip – it’s non-negotiable. The Silicone Free Rinse Out Conditioner did a pretty good job of that. I have used it after my deep conditioner to help further detangle my hair, and I have used it immediately after my shampoo for a wash and go. It doesn’t necessarily leave the slippery coating I’ve grown accustomed to, and I am growing to appreciate that (more on that in a moment). I do wish it assisted more in detangling, though.

Verdict: OK

Earth Supplied Textured Haircare Review - Mack the Maverick (6)

Earth Supplied Leave-In Conditioner

12 oz. – $6.29, sallybeauty.com

I mentioned above that I’m kind of happy that my rinse-out, surface conditioner doesn’t leave a lot of film or residue. Why? Because this leave-in is RICH, rich. I’ve used spray leave-ins, creamy, jelly-like leave-ins, and I’ve used custards. I think this may be the heaviest leave-in conditioner I’ve ever used. This product has the texture of a stiff whipped shea butter, which is unsurprising – it boasts containing 20% shea butter. As a leave-in conditioner it does do the job of sealing in moisture and helping the hair become manageable for further styling. I would just recommend using it sparingly to start – a little goes a long way.

Verdict: Mighty Fine

Earth Supplied Textured Haircare Review - Mack the Maverick (7)

Earth Supplied Curl-Poppin Activator

13 oz. – $6.29, sallybeauty.com

Last but not least, I used the Curl Poppin’ Activator to style my hair. I used this product both to do my twist-outs and shingled it for a wash and go. When I think of curl activators, I think of liquid sprays. I’ve had marginal success with those in the past, but never enough to keep using them. I didn’t know what to expect from a cream curl-activator, but for my tight 4a/4b/4c curls, this product did exactly what the name suggested. This styler produced well-defined, elongated curls. Although the product doesn’t claim to add hold, the weight of the butter helped set and maintain the pattern a bit. For my twist-out, I was able to get second- and third-day hair without retwisting.

(Video) 2017 Dollar General Day of Beauty

Verdict: Mighty Fine

Wash Day Results

I was very impressed with the results of my twistouts. On my most recent wash day, the first two or three nights after I took it down, I just slapped a bonnet on it and kept it moving. On day 4 or 5, I went ahead and retwisted my hair. I was able to do so without much, if any, additional product, and my retwisted hair was soft, fluffy, and voluminous. My hair was still nicely moisturized from my wash day.

(Video) TRANSFORM & CHAT // brands changing ingredients, fresh & fit, how are Black women operating in 2022?

On the wash and go, my natural hair was defined, but I was quickly reminded why I don’t do this style anymore – it took FOREVER to dry. This is not unusual, but not as forgiving in a product that is heavier and white. Like the leave-in conditioner, I would err on the side of “less is more” and be prepared to diffuse or sit under the dryer.

A Note About Beards

My husband, Casper, now wears his hair bald and beautiful, but he balances his coif (or lack thereof) with a full beard. Casper has dense type 4 hair like mine, but it’s a bit more coarse and less porous. He has often wanted to wear his beard more stretched but hasn’t had much success in the past. He’s tried many beard butters, potions, and lotions to no avail. I hypothesized that one day a product I had in my stash would work on kinky facial hair.

One day while traveling, I casually put some of the Earth Supplied Leave-in in his beard before bed. Here’s what he had to say:

Earth Supplied Textured Haircare Review - Mack the Maverick (9)

As a follow-up, he allowed me to service his beard from shampoo to leave-in, much like I’d do my own hair. He, too, reported softer, more manageable hair for a longer period of time.

Final Verdict

High and Mighty!!

Earth Supplied delivers on its promise of “more butter, less bull.” All the products I’ve used so far have worked very well for my highly textured hair, improving the moisture, strength, and elasticity. Also, I must note that my experience with customer service has been positive. In doing research for this review, I emailed the company a product question on a Sunday evening, thinking a response would be a longshot. On Monday morning, I had a thorough, pleasant answer.

Since beginning this test, I have also gone back and purchased the Retention Oil Serum, and I intend to try other products in the future. Although, I had a small few drawbacks to point out, the line on a whole is stellar. Where the individual products have shortcomings, they work in concert together to fill in any gaps. The fact that the brand is available at such an affordable price at common retailers is also promising, in terms of making natural haircare accessible to everyone. In this short time, Earth Supplied has become one of my favorite lines, and I forsee it becoming a staple in my collection.

(Video) Fashion Fair Review| Skinflex Stick| Iconic Lipstick|Black Owned At Sephora| Wearable Makeup

Related

FAQs

Who is the owner of Earth supplied hair products? ›

christie Boncelet - owner/president - earth supplied products | LinkedIn.

Is Earth supplied good for curly hair? ›

Earth Supplied Moisture & Repair Sulfate Free Shampoo is made with African Shea Butter to replenish moisture, detangle, soften, and repair coily and curly hair. NO Sulfates, Silicones, Parabens, Mineral Oil, Petrolatum, Paraffin, Propylene Glycol, Phthalates, Gluten, PABA or DEA.

Is KeraCare good for curly hair? ›

™ KeraCare® Thermal Wonder™ is free of straightening chemicals and does not alter your curl pattern. Your hair will revert back to its normal curl pattern as soon as you shampoo it or are exposed to water, sweat or prolonged excessive moisture.

How do you take care of textured hair? ›

To care for curly hair, board-certified dermatologists recommend these tips.
  1. Only wash your hair when needed. ...
  2. Keep your hair moisturized. ...
  3. Take care of your scalp. ...
  4. Detangle your hair. ...
  5. Protect your curls from the sun. ...
  6. Care for your hair while you sleep.
29 Jun 2022

Which company hair products are best? ›

List of the Top 15 Hair Care Products in India
  • Himalaya Anti Hair Fall Shampoo.
  • Herbal Essences Argan Oil of Morocco Conditioner.
  • Parachute Advansed Enriched Coconut Hair Oil.
  • Biotique Bio Mountain Ebony Vitalizing Serum.
  • Mamaearth Onion Hair Mask.
  • Garnier Fructis Conditioner for All Hair Types.
  • Indulekha Bhringha Oil.
3 Oct 2022

What should I avoid for curly hair? ›

Ingredients To Avoid For Curly Hair
  • Sulfates. Known to strip hair of natural oils, sulfates are an absolutely no-no for curls. ...
  • Parabens. ...
  • Protein Overload. ...
  • Alcohols. ...
  • Shea Butter. ...
  • Jojoba. ...
  • Aloe Vera. ...
  • Hyaluronic Acid.
5 Apr 2022

Do Europeans naturally have curly hair? ›

Evolutionary trait

It is known that 45% of European people have straight hair, 40% have wavy hair and 15% have curly hair. They had previously established the heritability of curly hair, finding there was as much as a 90% chance of it being an inherited trait.

What percentage of the Earth has curly hair? ›

Lots of traits are statistically rare: Left-handedness (just 10 percent of the population!), curly hair (11 percent!), and blond hair (4 percent!), to name a few. But of the more than seven billion people on the planet, only 2 percent can claim to have this one special trait.

Will keratin ruin my curls? ›

So no matter how “gentle” or “safe” a keratin treatment claims to be, it's important for you to know that while your hair may come out of the treatment looking smooth, shiny, and healthy, your curls will be no more.

Does KeraCare help hair growth? ›

It's a must-have in your weekly hair-care routine for hair so soft that you feel like touching them again and again. It gives this hair growth oil time to go deep into the roots and nourish your hair from within. It's light and non-sticky and suitable for all hair types.

Does KeraCare have formaldehyde? ›

KeraCare® products do not contain human placenta extracts, formaldehyde or its derivatives – and most products do not contain sulfates, parabens, mineral oil, phthalates or petrolatum.

How often should you wash texturized hair? ›

Wash it less for two reasons: It doesn't get greasy quite so fast, and you don't want to strip it of any moisture and natural oils it needs to be healthy. A good rule of thumb to start is to “wash" once every 1-1.5 weeks.

What should be avoided when shampooing textured hair? ›

Harsh sulfates can be really bad for women with textured hair, so I try to avoid them.
...
Sulfates that you should avoid include:
  1. Ammonium Laurel Sulfate.
  2. Sodium Lauryl sulfate.
  3. Sodium Laureth Sulfate.
  4. Myreth Sulfate.
  5. Sodium Alkybenzene Sulfonate.
  6. TEA dodecylbenzenesulfonate.
  7. TEA Luryl Sulfate.
10 Dec 2016

Does texturizing make hair frizzy? ›

Texturizing can do wonders for a haircut. However, if not properly done, hair texturizing can actually work against your hair. A poor texturizing application can make hair look too thin, frizzy, or uneven. Here are some of the most common texturizing shear errors and tips to best avoid them.

What is the number one hair care company in the world? ›

L'Oréal is the world's largest cosmetics group with a presence in 150 countries. The company creates and develops cosmetic products across skincare, haircare, make-up and perfumes.

Can a white person use Black hair products? ›

White people can absolutely use hair care products that are geared toward Black hair. Despite their obvious differences, both White and Black hair benefit from moisturizing and strengthening hair care products.

What is the richest Black owned company? ›

The real-estate investment trust company RLJ Lodging Trust is one of the largest Black-owned public businesses in America, with assets of $5.92 billion as of June 2020. Other notable big businesses include World Wide Technology, a global tech consulting firm; Salamander Resort & Spa, which is owned by Sheila C.

What is the best shampoo for African American hair? ›

The Best Shampoo for Black Hair
  • Color Safe: SheaMoisture Sugarcane Extract & Meadowfoam Seed MiracleMulti-Benefit Shampoo. ...
  • Anti-Breakage: Nexxus Curl Define Shampoo.
  • Deep, Non-Stripping Clean: Suave Professionals Sulfate-Free Cleansing Shampoo. ...
  • Softening: SheaMoisture Moringa & Avocado Power Greens Shampoo.

What are the worst products for curly hair? ›

Use "Frizz-Free" and "Smoothing" Products.

Anything that is marketed as "frizz-free" or "smoothing" are loaded with silicones. Silicones are basically liquid plastic and they coat the hair shaft, which prevents moisture from penetrating your hair, thus exacerbating the problem of dry, frizzy hair.

What can ruin curly hair? ›

5 Things That Cause Damaged Curly Hair
  • Color Damage.
  • Over-Washing.
  • Mechanical Damage.
  • Using the Wrong Hair Products.
  • Heat Damage.
  • Shampoo.
  • Conditioner.
  • All-In-One.
27 Apr 2022

Which is the rarest hair type? ›

Hair type 1A is super-straight. It doesn't even hold a curl! 1A is the rarest hair type. It is usually found on people of Asian descent.

What nationality is known for curly hair? ›

Peoples originating from sub-Saharan Africa tend to have very strong curl to their hair. Peoples from Eurasia less so. The important word here is less, in every European population there are people who have naturally curly hair.

What race is known for curly hair? ›

The terms 'European hair' and 'Caucasian hair' are often used interchangeably and are taken to denote 'wavy' to 'straight' hair; 'East Asian' hair is taken to mean 'pin-straight' hair; and 'African' or 'ethnic' hair is taken to signify 'curly' or 'very curly' hair.

Is curly hair inherited from mother or father? ›

Curly hair is determined by factors you inherit from your biological mother and your biological father. There's no single gene that determines the way that your hair looks. The way your hair looks when you're born is also a clue into the genetic information you'd pass to your own children if you have them.

Why do some white people have curly hair? ›

The gene for curly hair in Caucasians

A recent genome wide association scan has found a SNP (single nucleotide polymorphism) called rs11803731 in the TCHH gene which accounts for about 6% of hair curliness.

Is curly hair the rarest hair type? ›

Type 1 hair is straight and is the rarest hair type. Typically, straight hair will lie flat to the scalp and be both shiny and lustrous. This is because its natural oils can travel up and down the hair shaft with ease.

Why is my hair still wavy after keratin treatment? ›

"After any Keratin Treatment, the Moisture vs. Protein balance in our hair will be "out-of-sync" due to the high protein concentration used during the procedure. This will cause hair to feel rough, coarse and brittle in the short or long term if nothing is done to counteract it.

Which treatment is best for curly frizzy hair? ›

To counter the frizz, lock the moisture in with a nourishing gel, butter, or mousse once a week. Or simply consider natural oils such as neem, coconut, argan or jojoba. Take a few drops in your palm and massage with your fingers into your scalp and strand. Keep it on overnight, and wash off in the morning.

Should people with curly hair get keratin? ›

Keratin is a great way to tame the frizz, make your hair shine, and make those curls look amazing. It will relax the curl a bit but it also makes the texture more manageable, which helps cut down on the frizz. The treatment can be left on for different lengths of time to achieve different results.

What is the best hair growth system on the market? ›

The best products to help stimulate hair growth, according to a dermatologist
  • Women's Rogaine 2% Minoxidil Topical Solution. ...
  • Men's Rogaine Extra Strength 5% Minoxidil Topical Solution. ...
  • ReTress Serum. ...
  • Kintsugi Awakening Mist. ...
  • Isdin Lambdapil Hair Loss Lotion. ...
  • Briogeo Scalp Revival Charcoal and Tea Tree Scalp Treatment Serum.
10 Aug 2022

What is the most effective hair growth system? ›

Best hair growth product overall

Sometimes, the best-known product is best-known for a reason. Rogaine contains the active ingredient minoxidil, which has overwhelmingly been shown to effectively treat hair loss in clinical trials. And the clinicians I spoke to recommended it for women as well as men.

Is KeraCare good for damaged hair? ›

Helps minimize hair breakage. Seals hair cuticles as it repairs damaged hair. Superior detangling for easy wet and dry combing. Leaves hair soft and shiny.

Does formaldehyde damage your hair? ›

Some experience more-extreme reactions, such as coughing, wheezing or even asthmalike symptoms. And there have been cases of hair loss and vomiting from hair products with high levels of formaldehyde.

Is KeraCare good for black hair? ›

“I love KERACARE Humecto it has been my go to conditioner for my clients with Afro and curly hair who haven't had any keratin, ” says Mimi. For best results, leave the conditioner on hair for at least 10 minutes and watch it work its magic.

Does KeraCare have sulfate? ›

1st Lather® Shampoo cleans hair thoroughly without stripping natural oils.

Who owns Olaplex products? ›

Olaplex Holdings Inc., was bought by private equity firm, Advent International, in 2019. According to Business of Fashion, Advent owns about 79.6 percent of the company's combined voting power through associated investment funds.

Who is the CEO of Aussie hair products? ›

Tom Redmond is the founder of the Aussie hair care brand. The dynamic company forged new ground in its use of natural ingredients from Australia. Drawing on his experience developing the Aussie brand, Tom Redmond now guides Onesta Hair Care, which has a commitment to natural products.

Who owns Cantu company? ›

Cantu was acquired by PDC Brands on Jul 1, 2015 .

Who owns O&M hair? ›

When Jose Bryce Smith founded haircare brand Original & Mineral — better known as O&M — over 10 years ago, she was way ahead of her time. Bryce Smith was (and still is!) passionate about creating top quality hair colour and styling products that were completely free from ammonia and other questionable chemicals.

Why did Olaplex get sued? ›

(Reuters) - The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit has tossed a $66 million Delaware federal court ruling for Olaplex Inc, which had accused L'Oreal USA Inc of stealing its trade secrets and infringing patents related to its hair-bleaching technology.

Why did Olaplex get Cancelled? ›

The ingredient, which is a fragrance, has been officially classified as 'reprotoxic' as it was found that it could have adverse effects on fertility, as well as on the development of a foetus.

Do the Kardashians use Olaplex? ›

Kardashian has voiced her love for Olaplex products for years now, especially the Olaplex No. 3 Hair Perfector, and with over 64,000 five-star ratings on Amazon, it's easy to see that her beloved go-to is also a shopper favorite.

Is Aussie owned by Johnson and Johnson? ›

Aussie is an international cosmetics brand. Its products are focused on hair care, such as shampoos, conditioners, hair serums, gels, and sprays. While its logo is a kangaroo, and slogan is "Add some Roo to Your Do!", the brand is manufactured by Procter & Gamble, an American company who bought the brand in 2003.

Is Aussie Shampoo actually Australian? ›

Which is short for Australia, the birthplace of our brand and the inspiration behind everything we do. It was in Australia that our award-winning 3 Minute Miracle Deep Conditioning Treatment was invented and we're proud of our Aussie roots.

Did Aussie get recalled? ›

Old Spice Pure Sport Dry Shampoo, 4.9oz. Aussie Clean Texture Dry Shampoo, 4.9oz. Aussie Bounce Back Dry Shampoo, 4.9oz.
...
Production Code Ranges (to determine if product is in scope of recall)DescriptionUPC
in the range of 0014-0062 or 9198-9349Aussie Sleekend Warrior Dry Conditioner, 4.9oz.381519187537
12 more rows

Can Caucasian people use Cantu? ›

I would not recommend this for Caucasian hair. It is not a regular conditioner it is used to leave in hair to control frizz and help style shape and moisturize very curly or dry hair.

Is Cantu actually good for your hair? ›

Yes. Cantu is designed for textured hair and works amazingly on coils, curls, and waves. However, the products have moisturizing properties that are great for keeping any hair type healthy. Even if your hair is pin-straight, you will benefit from the all-natural, high-quality ingredients used in Cantu products.

Is Shea moisture still Black owned? ›

Though originally Black-founded, SheaMoisture and Carol's Daughter are no longer Black-owned. That isn't necessarily a problem, but in an industry that largely still struggles to recognize the unique needs of Black hair, it has caused skepticism among some (though certainly not all) Black consumers.

Is O&M good for hair? ›

Like their shampoos and conditioners, O&M styling products are made from natural products that are good for your hair whilst also delivering incredible results, and include: Frizzy Logic: Uses Argan Oil and Macadamia Oil to smooth frizzy hair and tame curls.

Where is O&M products made? ›

O&M are the original pioneers of clean colour technology (CCT) and ammonia, PPD, resorcinol free haircare. We are creating a 'clean luxury' movement for the world, made, with love right here in Australia.

Where are Davines hair products made? ›

Every Davines product is designed, formulated and produced on our premises and in our laboratories in Parma. Therefore, they are all made in Italy.

Videos

1. Beauty Game Changers 2018!
(The Beauty Maverick)
2. Top 5 Best High End Briefcase for Men for Office, Travel and Great Looking
(ZedIOptima)
3. How To Maintain a Clear Skin (Secrets revealed) Try These Tips | Tamil | House of Maverick
(HOUSE OF MAVERICK)
4. WEEKLY VLOG #8: MY REPUTATION, 4c WASH STYLE, SEPHORA HAUL, TOOK OUT MY BRAIDS, THERAPY | MenaAdubea
(Mena_Adubea)
5. Crochet Locs | Easy HairStyles | Rhonda Trinise | RJ Elegance
(Rhonda Trinise)
6. An NFL Cheerleader's Entire Routine, from Waking Up to Game Day | Allure
(Allure)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Errol Quitzon

Last Updated: 12/20/2022

Views: 6726

Rating: 4.9 / 5 (79 voted)

Reviews: 94% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Errol Quitzon

Birthday: 1993-04-02

Address: 70604 Haley Lane, Port Weldonside, TN 99233-0942

Phone: +9665282866296

Job: Product Retail Agent

Hobby: Computer programming, Horseback riding, Hooping, Dance, Ice skating, Backpacking, Rafting

Introduction: My name is Errol Quitzon, I am a fair, cute, fancy, clean, attractive, sparkling, kind person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.